Clients sometimes worry about whether their evaluation will put them in “education” or “rehabilitation.” Oregon’s rules related to those two very similar types of treatment are established by the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) at OAR 309-019-0195:
“(4) DUII Education shall be provided for individuals who:
(a) Do not currently meet DSM diagnostic criteria for a SUD [Substance Use Disorder]; and
(b) Meet ASAM Criteria for Level 0.5; and
(c) Have never been diagnosed with a SUD; and
(d) Have never been enrolled in a DUII or SUD treatment program.
(5) DUII Education shall include a minimum of four sessions over a four-week period and include the provision of a minimum of 12 hours of didactic education. The minimum 12 hours does not include diagnostic assessment, service planning, or transfer planning. DUII Education shall include but is not limited to:
(a) Completion of a Division approved DUII Education Pre and Post Test;
(b) DUII Laws and Consequences in Oregon;
(c) Use of alcohol and other drugs, and their effects on driving;
(d) Physical and psychological effects of alcohol and other drugs of abuse;
(e) SUD signs and symptoms;
(f) SUD recovery support services; and
(g) Alternatives to intoxicated driving.
(6) No more than four of the 12 minimum hours shall be conducted utilizing educational films or pre-recorded audio-visual presentations.
(7) DUII Rehabilitation shall be provided for individuals who:
(a) Meet DSM diagnostic criteria for a SUD; or
(b) Meet ASAM Criteria for Level 1 or higher; or
(c) Have been previously diagnosed with a SUD; or
(d) Have previously been enrolled in a DUII or SUD treatment program.
(8) DUII Rehabilitation shall include:
(a) DUII Education as described in section (5) of this rule; and
(b) SUD treatment services as outlined in the individual’s service plan.
(9) DUII Service Providers shall use urinalysis testing for use of substances of abuse following procedures in OAR 309-019. Urinalysis tests shall be conducted as deemed clinically appropriate, but no less than:
(a) At the time of assessment; and
(b) Twice per calendar month with no more than 14 calendar days between tests; and
(c) Within two weeks prior to completion; and
(d) Within 72 hours of receipt of laboratory results indicating that a urinalysis sample was identified as out of range for Creatinine, pH, or Specific Gravity as defined by the urinalysis laboratory results;
(10) Urinalysis shall, at a minimum, test for the following substances of abuse:
(e) Opiates; and
(11) In addition to the substances of abuse outlined in section (10), an EtG/EtS test for alcohol shall be conducted, at a minimum, at the time of assessment and within two weeks prior to completion.
(12) Individuals enrolled in DUII Education are expected to demonstrate abstinence from use of intoxicants as evidenced by negative urinalysis reports, except as allowed in ORS 813.200. Individuals who provide a positive urinalysis test or who self-report use of a substance shall be required to complete DUII Rehabilitation.
(13) Individuals enrolled in DUII Rehabilitation are expected to maintain abstinence from use of intoxicants as evidenced by negative urinalysis tests, except as allowed in ORS 813.200, while outside of a controlled environment for no less than the final 90 days of the DUII Rehabilitation program.”
The exceptions for urine testing mentioned in ORS 813.200 are as follows:
“(5) A person may use intoxicants during the diversion period if:
(a) The person consumes sacramental wine given or provided as part of a religious rite or service;
(b) The person has a valid prescription for a substance and the person takes the substance as directed; or
(c) The person is using a nonprescription drug, as defined in ORS 689.005, in accordance with the directions for use that are printed on the label for that nonprescription drug.”